Just another WordPress.com site

Sketch Process: Senator Christopher Dodd

This is a “sketch process” thing. I’m working on a portrait (a painting) of former Senator Chris Dodd of CT. My wife worked for him for the past year, so we’re going to give him the portrait as a going away gift.

Anyhow…I’m always taking pix of my work in progress, but I never collate them and see the piece in layered, historical relation to its…elf as it evolves. This time I hunkered down in Photoshop to put a visual timeline together, and it’s really instructive to see where stuff bubbles up–or gets lost.

As such, this was a warm-up, and now simply an abandoned sketch. But, ah, what a useful wreck!

I’m in the middle of figuring out a new way for me to paint. One method in my pursuit is to work on integrating this “hit it hard/be ready to lose it at any moment/let the marks do the talking/pull it out of the fire” process that I have in my drawing.

Preparatory Pencil Sketch of Senator Christopher Dodd by Nick Rusko-Berger

Preparatory Pencil Sketch of Senator Christopher Dodd by Nick Rusko-Berger

Leave a Reply

